Happy Birthday Jim Henson! In honor of what would have been his 76th birthday, we present two posts on the subject of Muppets…

Humor in America

Michael Giles Purgason

Editor’s Note:  Michael Purgason was a student in one of my courses this past year.  Even though Michael was a graduating senior who was applying for medical schools, he took a keen interest in the subject of my English class and in the “Humor in America” blog.  Tragically, Michael was killed in a car accident in July.  With the permission of his family, I am publishing the piece below, which he was in the process of making final revisions for “Humor in America.”  –Tracy

Muppets Treasure IslandAs a child growing up two of my favorite films that I watched frequently on VHS were Muppet Treasure Island and A Muppet Christmas Carol. One thing I always noticed about these two films in particular was that they were the only two Disney movies my parents and older siblings would be happy to watch with me consistently, and they would laugh hysterically…

View original post 1,237 more words

One response

Leave a Reply

