Stand-Up Sunday: Joan Rivers

Tracy Wuster

Joan Rivers piece of workThe most famous comedian I have ever met is Joan Rivers, who I met on the street in New York City while in town researching Mark Twain at the New York Public Library.  I haven’t seen “Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work” yet, but I really want to.  Anyone want to write a review of the movie?  Or a piece on the importance of Rivers?

“I succeeded by saying what everyone else is thinking.”

See around 4:00 for a heckler and Joan’s response about the reasons for comedy

From a story on “Fresh Air”:

“Because it’s so politically correct now,” Rivers tells Fresh Air‘s Terry Gross. “Everybody is so uptight to say anything, so I started making jokes about anything to my friends, and one of them said, ‘Just jot it down. There’s a book in this.'”

Joan Rivers and Tracy Wuster

Leave a Reply

