Ron White: Smooth Standup for Singular Viewing

I uh… I really like the Blue Collar Comedy Tour.  I feel like I have to confess this rather than just drop it casually.  I can mention that I like Aziz Ansari at a cool party with hip academics, fog machines, and black lights (which I attend practically all the time, by the way), but I have to “confess” that I like BCCT.  I feel like this because I have ideological qualms with the premise of the troupe.  I’ll write more on this later, but for now I want to highlight the man who I feel is the cream of the crop: Ron White.  Unlike the other, perhaps more infamous of the four performers whose acts stick to your ribs like overcooked oatmeal, White’s act is as smooth as a good scotch–no gimmicks or catchphrases, just pure, acerbic, Texan style.

Although a pillar of the Blue Collar Comedy troupe, White’s persona seems to have no unexamined allegiances to neither class nor political party.

White often falls to the ultimate sin of standup: reusing material ad nauseum. Once you’ve watched They Call Me Tater Salad, you’ve pretty much seen his repertoire.  The performance itself is anything but lazy, however, and I highly recommend it.  It’s impeccably timed, tightly delivered, and leaves me doubled over every time.

Leave a Reply

